Laserfiche WebLink
01/25/2010 MINUTES 1 <br />COMMISSIONERS' MINUTES <br />KITTITAS COUNTY, WASHINGTON <br />COMMISSIONERS CONFERENCE ROOM <br />REGULAR MEETING <br /> <br />MONDAY 9:40 A.M. JANUARY 25, 2010 <br /> <br />Board members present: Chairman Mark McClain, Vice-Chairman Paul <br />Jewell and Commissioner Alan Crankovich. <br /> <br />Others: Mandy Robinson, Deputy Clerk of the Board; Gene Dana, <br />Sheriff; Joseph Whalen, Human Resources Director. <br /> <br />REGULAR MEETING DEPARTMENT HEAD SHERIFF <br /> <br />Sheriff Gene Dana indicated that his Administrative Assistant was at <br />the top of her pay scale again this year, and would like to see if <br />something could be done. He provided a letter regarding some of the <br />position duties and examples of in-house comparables. He explained <br />that he is understanding that we are waiting on the compilation of <br />the comparable Counties, but stressed that it’s important to keep <br />long term employees. He indicated some other positions in the County <br />that are at the same type of management level, as his Admin <br />Assistant, and felt the scale needs to be adjusted to a similar pay. <br />Sheriff Gene Dana also provided a letter regarding concerns for the <br />pay scales for his command staff. He explained that his Management <br />level staff are paid less than his Line deputies, by the time you <br />add in all the incentives the Union bargained for. He suggested some <br />proposals for ways to avoid future discussions regarding this and <br />similar situations. <br /> <br />The Board questioned where funding would come from for the Sheriff <br />to do the salary increases. Sheriff Dana indicated he would have to <br />possibly look at staffing levels possibly. The Board asked the <br />Sheriff to hold off until the comparables are back and compiled. <br /> <br />Meeting adjourned at 9:50 a.m. <br />KITTITAS COUNTY COMMISSIONERS <br />DEPUTY CLERK OF THE BOARD KITTITAS COUNTY, WASHINGTON <br /> <br /> <br /> <br />Mandy Robinson Mark McClain, Chairman <br />