Laserfiche WebLink
PROCLAMATION <br /> <br /> <br />“Bring Your Mentee to Work Day” <br />June 28th 2019 <br /> WHEREAS: Children are vital to our County’s future success, prosperity and quality of life <br />and are our most vulnerable assets; <br /> <br />WHEREAS: Every child in Kittitas County will reach their full potential and we support youth <br />by connecting them with trusted adults; <br /> <br />WHEREAS: Youth Services Mentoring Program envisions a community in which every youth <br />experience nurturing one-to-one relationships and community support, which in turn, allows <br />each of them to develop into their full potential, capable of making informed, responsible <br />decisions as involved members of our community; <br /> <br />WHEREAS: Youth Services Mentor Program’s adult volunteers concentrate on the child, <br />letting the friendship find its own impact and letting the child lead the way. Adult friends do not <br />act as parents, teachers, disciplinarians, coaches, therapists or saviors. Instead, they act as <br />friends, providing a listening, encouraging, caring presence that the child can count on over time. <br />This respectful approach opens doors to mutuality in an adult/child relationship that is, sadly, all <br />too rare for children today; <br /> <br />WHEREAS: National research has shown that mentoring relationships have a clear positive <br />impact on the life of the matched child; <br /> <br />NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED: the Kittitas County Board of Commissioners <br />proclaim June 28, 2019 as “Bring Your Mentee to Work Day” and call upon all citizens, <br />community agencies, faith groups, medical facilities, elected leaders and businesses in Kittitas <br />County to participate in the efforts to support youth and families, thereby ensuring every child in <br />Kittitas County will reach their full potential by supporting youth by connecting them with <br />trusted adult mentors. <br /> <br /> Dated this 5th day of March, 2019. <br /> THE KITTITAS COUNTY <br /> BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS <br /> <br /> <br /> Cory Wright, Chairman <br /> <br /> <br /> Brett Wachsmith, Vice-Chairman <br /> <br /> <br /> Laura Osiadacz, Commissioner <br />ATTEST: <br /> <br /> <br />Julie Kjorsvik, Clerk of the Board